CD
Spider on the Wall

Item number: TRI_701_CD

EAN: 4260063947018

Date of issue: 24.07.2020

Since day one, Ronny Moorings transferred the mood of the era into his music. He did so 35 years ago when he ignited the hearts of the uprising goth movement with his fabled debut “Clan Of Xymox”. And he did so in 2017 when he released “Days of Black”, his very own requiem to a dying world. 2020 sees Moorings return with yet another manifesto of melancholy. And even if this catastrophic year is good for nothing else, at least it gave us this masterpiece. “Spider on the Wall”, that much is certain already, is the most important goth release of the year. And ultimate evidence that this music, however loyal to its origins, is still better in channelling the zeitgeist than anything else.

This comes at a stage when Moorings most certainly has nothing left to prove. The Dutch goth icon is one of the last of his kind, someone not only playing goth music but breathing it. As mainland Europe’s most influential goth project, CLAN OF XYMOX comes second only to the pilgrim fathers BAUHAUS or THE CURE - bearing in mind the both precious and unusual difference that Moorings is as creative as he ever was, broadcasting his morbid ballads with the same zeal, the same agony. This isn’t the Cold War anymore, this is not the eighties. The epic scope of his music, however, remains the same.

Fortunately, “Spider on the Wall” is free of unpleasant surprises. Almost 40 years into his services for the dark side, Ronny Moorings finds himself at yet another high in his career. His songs breathe sophisticated weltschmerz, carried by mesmerising beats, reverb-drenched guitars and floating synthesizers, his whole world of sound a lesson in fine goth arts. As on his seminal and groundbreaking releases in the murky eighties, CLAN OF XYMOX still court with the promise of catharsis. Yes, the world is pretty much fucked. Yes, these are dire times. But at least we now have the appropriate soundtrack for this dystopia turned reality, sporting “I don’t like myself”, “When we were young” or “Lovers”, three of the finest pieces he ever wrote. Pretty remarkable for someone who released his first album 35 years ago, isn’t it?

Category: CLAN OF XYMOX


15,99 €

including 16% VAT. , plus shipping

Available now!

Shipping time: 22 - 23 workdays

Available from: 24.07.2020 (Pre-order is possible)
Stk


  1. She
  2. Lovers
  3. Into The Unknown
  4. All I Ever Know
  5. I Don't Like Myself
  6. Spider On The Wall
  7. When We Were Young
  8. Black Mirror
  9. My New Lows
  10. See You On The Other Side

Band: Clan Of Xymox
Label: Trisol
Produkttyp: CD

Average product review

Write your first review and help others with their purchase decision:

Please login first to add a tag.

CD
Spider on the Wall

Artikelnummer: TRI_701_CD

EAN: 4260063947018

Erscheinungsdatum: 24.07.2020

Immer schon ist es Ronny Moorings gelungen, die Stimmung der Welt in seiner Musik zu transportieren. Das war vor 35 Jahren so, als er mit seinem Debüt „Clan of Xymox“ die Herzen der aufkeimenden Goth-Bewegung in Flammen setzte. Und das war zuletzt 2017 so, als er der sterbenden Welt mit „Days Of Black“ ein angemessen düsteres Requiem schrieb. 2020 ist Moorings mit einem neuen Manifest der Melancholie zurück. Und wenn dieses verkorkste Jahr sonst zu nichts gut ist, dann hat es uns wenigstens dieses Meisterwerk beschert. „Spider On The Wall“, das darf man schon jetzt sagen, ist die wichtigste Goth-Veröffentlichung des Jahres. Und der endgültige Beweis, dass diese Musik bei aller Werktreue den Zeitgeist besser kanalisieren kann als alles andere.

Dabei muss sich Moorings ja im Grunde gar nichts mehr beweisen. Die niederländische Goth-Ikone ist einer der letzten seiner Art, jemand, der Goth nicht nur spielt, sondern atmet. Als einflussreichstes Goth-Projekt des europäischen Festlands steht CLAN OF XYMOX direkt hinter den Gründervätern wie BAUHAUS oder THE CURE - mit dem ebenso schönen wie ungewöhnlichen Unterschied, dass Moorings unverändert kreativ ist und seine Moritaten mit derselben Inbrunst, demselben Seelenschmerz in die kranke Welt hinausschickt. Dies hier ist nicht mehr der Kalte Krieg, es sind nicht mehr die Achtziger. Doch die epochale Tragweite in seiner Musik ist immer noch dieselbe.

Überraschungen hält „Spider On The Wall“ deswegen nicht parat. Zum Glück! Gut, außer vielleicht die, dass sich Ronny Moorings auch nach bald 40 aktiven Jahren im Dienste der Düsternis mal wieder auf einem neuen kreativen Hoch befindet. Seine Songs hauchen eleganten Weltschmerz in die Welt, die Beats schleppend, die Gitarren verhallend wie Rufe im Nebel, die Synthies mal sphärisch, mal archetypisch, der gesamte Klang eine Moritat feinster Goth-Hochkultur. Wie schon die Referenzwerke der Achtziger gelingt CLAN OF XYMOX auch anno 2020 das Kunststück der Katharsis: Ja, die Welt steht am Abgrund. Ja, die Zeiten sind finster. Aber immerhin haben wir jetzt den passenden Soundtrack für diese real gewordene Dystopie. Und der birgt mit „I Don‘t Like Myself“ oder „When We Were Young“ oder „Lovers“ gleich drei von Moorings feinsten Momenten überhaupt. 35 Jahre nach dem Debüt ist das mehr als nur ein bisschen beeindruckend.

Kategorie: CLAN OF XYMOX


15,99 €

inkl. 16% USt. , zzgl. Versand

lieferbar

Lieferzeit: 5 - 6 Werktage

Stk


  1. She
  2. Lovers
  3. Into The Unknown
  4. All I Ever Know
  5. I Don't Like Myself
  6. Spider On The Wall
  7. When We Were Young
  8. Black Mirror
  9. My New Lows
  10. See You On The Other Side

Band: Clan Of Xymox
Produkttyp: CD
Label: Trisol

Durchschnittliche Artikelbewertung

Gib die erste Bewertung für diesen Artikel ab und helfe den Anderen bei der Kaufenscheidung:

Bitte melde Dich an, um einen Tag hinzuzufügen.