CD
The Horns Of Joy

Item number: TRI_435_CD

EAN: 4260063944352

Date of release: 01.07.2011

Over the last few years the German group :Golgatha:, who were founded in 2004 as a dark ambient band, have succeeded in cultivating their own unique style via a series of ambitious concept albums and live appearances. They describe this style as 'ritual folk': their highly original fusion of percussive world music elements with ethereal female vocals and earthy folk songs conjures up the spirits of Dead Can Dance, In The Nursery and Jocelyn Pook as well as those of Leonard Cohen, Sol Invictus and Current 93. Sounds of enraptured beauty come up against dark ecstacies and pessimistic visions. 'Horns of Joy' is dedicated to the nihilistic tendencies of the early 20th century - and their necessary overcoming.
'Horns of Joy' follows their successful last album, 'Tales of Transgression & Sacrifice' (2007) and the neoclassical symbiosis with French collaborators Dawn & Dusk Entwinded upon 'Sang Graal' (2008) and denotes a new chapter, a next stage in the development of :Golgatha:. 'Horns of Joy' is serious and mature, ambivalent and profound and amounts to more than just aestheticised gloom.

After early creative collaborations with Sixth Comm, Tony Wakeford and Herbst9, for 'Horns of Joy' they got the vocalists from Dawn & Dusk Entwinded and While Angels Watch on board and have created inimitable hymns about the great calamities of the 20th century: 'This is the sound of war - what has it all been good for?' Trancelike rhythms slowly build up, making way for songs of guilt and pain, but also of hope and joy.

With 'Horns of Joy', :Golgatha: have exceeded the sum of their work to date and have developed their distinct ritual folk sound in crystalline clarity over a cycle of 13 elaborate songs. In a captivating manner they demonstrate their special position in the landscape of European alternative music.

Category: CDs


6,99 €

including 16% VAT. , plus shipping

Available now!

Shipping time: 2 - 3 workdays

Stk


1. Enchantment
2. Fertility
3. The Iron Rose
4. The Horns Of Joy
5. Hymn For The Fallen One
6. The Dogs Of War
7. The Sound Of War
8. Hammer Or Anvil
9. Body Of Wind
10. Nihil
11. Rising
12. Dukha
13. Death In Honour

media amount: 1
Produkttyp: CD
Label: Trisol
Band: Golgatha

Average product review

Write your first review and help others with their purchase decision:

Please login first to add a tag.

CD
The Horns Of Joy

Artikelnummer: TRI_435_CD

EAN: 4260063944352

Erscheinungsdatum: 01.07.2011

1. Enchantment
2. Fertility
3. The Iron Rose
4. The Horns Of Joy
5. Hymn For The Fallen One
6. The Dogs Of War
7. The Sound Of War
8. Hammer Or Anvil
9. Body Of Wind
10. Nihil
11. Rising
12. Dukha
13. Death In Honour

Kategorie: CDs


6,99 €

inkl. 16% USt. , zzgl. Versand

lieferbar

Lieferzeit: 2 - 3 Werktage

Stk


Gegründet 2004 als Dark Ambient-Band, gelang es der deutschen Formation :Golgatha: über die letzten Jahre hinweg durch eine Reihe anspruchsvoller Konzeptalben und Live-Auftritte einen einzigartigen Stil zu kultivieren, den sie selbst als "Ritual Folk" bezeichnet: Ihre eigenwillige Fusion von perkussiven Weltmusikelementen mit ätherischem Frauengesang und erdigen Folksongs beschwört die Geister von Dead Can Dance, In The Nursery und Jocelyn Pook ebenso wie Leonard Cohen, Sol Invictus und Current 93. Klänge entrückender Schönheit treffen auf dunkle Ekstase und pessimistische Visionen. "Horns of Joy" ist den nihilistischen Strömungen des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts gewidmet - und deren notwendiger Überwindung.
Dem erfolgreichen letzten Album "Tales of Transgression & Sacrifice" (2007) und der neoklassischen Symbiose mit den französischen Kollegen Dawn & Dusk Entwinded auf "Sang Graal" (2008) folgend, bezeichnet "Horns of Joy" ein neues Kapitel, eine nächste Stufe in der Entwicklung von :Golgatha:. "Horns of Joy" ist ernsthaft und reif, ambivalent und tiefsinnig, ohne sich in der ästhetisierten Finsternis zu erschöpfen.

Nach früheren kreativen Zusammenarbeiten mit Sixth Comm, Tony Wakeford und Herbst9 holte man sich für "Horns of Joy" die Vokalisten von Dawn & Dusk Entwinded und While Angels Watch als Gäste ins Boot und schuf einzigartige Hymnen über die großen Katastrophen der 20. Jahrhunderts: "This is the sound of war - what has it all been good for?" Langsam steigern sich trancige Rhythmen, geben den Weg frei für Lieder von Schuld und Schmerz, aber auch Hoffnung und Freude.

:Golgatha: haben mit "Horn of Joy" die Summe ihres bisherigen Schaffens gezogen und ihren originären Ritual-Folk-Sound in kristalliner Klarheit über einen Zyklus von 13 ausgefeilten Songs entfaltet. Sie beweisen auf bestechende Weise ihre Sonderstellung in der alternativen Europäischen Musiklandschaft.


Band: Golgatha
Produkttyp: CD
Label: Trisol
Datenträger Anzahl : 1

Durchschnittliche Artikelbewertung

Gib die erste Bewertung für diesen Artikel ab und helfe den Anderen bei der Kaufenscheidung:

Bitte melde Dich an, um einen Tag hinzuzufügen.