limitierte 12" Vinyl japan press
Flowers From Exile

Item number: STRICT/1

EAN: 4260688243175

Date of release: 30.08.2019


  • White 180g 2x12" vinyl
  • With expanded original artwork
  • All graphics in a large format that does the imagery justice
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Inner sleeves printed in colour
  • Vinyl labels printed in colour
  • Bonus vinyl containing the rare "To Die Among Strangers" mini-album
  • Postcard
  • Hand-numbered by Jérôme Reuter
  • Personally signed by Jérôme Reuter
  • Strictly limited to 500 copies

Category: music

49,99 €

including 19% VAT. , plus shipping

Available now!

Shipping time: 2 - 3 workdays



Into the heart... With 'Flowers from Exile', the Luxembourgish folk formation ROME surpass their work to date, which already includes three full-length albums in just a few years. Just as early releases were apocalyptic and aggressive in nature, the expressionistically-tinged CD 'Masse Mensch Material' (2008) could be said to have a revealed inner vision. ROME's universe was expanded by proud resignation and sweet melanchoaly.

The latest album, 'Flowers from Exile' (2009) goes a step further in this direction. Similar to the early albums of the legendary songwriter Leonard Cohen, stories from the (inner) exile are told here with fatalistic gestures and dark timbre; of the longing for a lost homeland, of loneliness and eternal travels, but also of unexpected friends far away and the actual homeland in your own heart. Songs such as 'The Secret Sons of Europe' or 'To Die Among Strangers' (which was previously released as a CD single) form a song cycle full of metaphors for estrangement - the poetry of longing. Highly detailed arrangements use the sound of the flamenco guitar as well as mysterious samples, pulsating beats and sad melodies. In ROME's songs there lives a stoic sense of the melodramatic. As well as Cohen, one must look to icons such as Tom Waits and late Johnny Cash in order to be able to describe the lyrics and voice of Jerome Reuter.

'Flowers from Exile' is just as much an emotional as a critical work. The personally stamped album of a modern singer-songwriter which tells of journeys both within and without. Jerome Reuter's moving vocals and Patrick Damiani's complex musical arrangements leave the musical roots of folk far behind and send these 'flowers from exile' to all listeners who are willing and capable of feeling the dignity, the hope and the pride behind the lyrics and who are prepared to recognise themselves in those restless spirits whom the twelve part song cycle conjures up. Into the heart...

Tracklisting LP#1 - Seite 1:

  1. To A Generation Of Destroyers
  2. The Accidents Of Gesture
  3. Odessa
  4. The Secret Sons Of Europe
  5. The Hollow Self
  6. A Legacy Of Unrest

Tracklisting LP#1 - Seite 2:

  1. To Die Among Strangers
  2. A Culture Of Fragments
  3. We Who Fell In Love With The Sea
  4. Swords To Rust - Hearts To Dust
  5. Flowers From Exile
  6. Flight In Formation

Tracklisting LP#2 - Seite 1:

  1. To Die Among Strangers
  2. Reversion (Edit)
  3. Wir Götter Der Stadt (Edit)

Tracklisting LP#2 - Seite 2:

  1. Mourir A Madrid

color: white
specific features: limited Japan Pressing
media amount: 2
Band: ROME
Label: Strict Records
Produkttyp: 12" Vinyl

Average product review

Write your first review and help others with their purchase decision:

Please login first to add a tag.